Bishop Francis Acqurinus Kibira blessing the newly ordained priests

The Catholic diocese of Kasese on 1 July 7, 2023 celebrated the ordination of two priests and three deacons. The ordination ceremony was hosted by Nsenyi Catholic Parish and held at St.John’s minor seminary Kiburara. The ordination was presided over by the Rt.Rev.Francis Acqurinus Kibira, bishop of the diocese of Kasese.

Deacons Modest Bwambale, Loti Maathe were ordained priests and seminarians, Morris Thembo, Ednus Mumbere and Fredrick Masereka were ordained deacons in the catholic diocese of Kasese.

The priestly ordination of Bwambale and Maathe makes the total number of priests in the diocese of Kasese to 74 since its inception in 1989.

In his homily during the ordination mass, Bishop Kibira called upon priests worldwide to live an exemplary life by supporting each other in full filling their duties as servants of God.

Bishops in the Catholic Church are always encouraged to send at least two priests for a mission so that they can demonstrate love for one another allowing Christians to learn from their example.

Hon. Baluku Godfrey Kabyanga

The state Minister for ICT and National Guidance Baluku Godfrey Kabyanga emphasized more need for religious leaders who will always console the hopeless Christians and all people of God, giving an example of parents who had lost their children in the school attack of Mpondwe Lhubiriha school. These parents need to be consoled, Kabyanga said.

Bishop Francis Acqurinus Kibira

On the same day the Bishop launched a medical insurance scheme to provide for the health and medical needs for the sick and elderly priests. During the launch, the Bishop said, as individuals age, they become more vulnerable to diseases.

The scheme therefore is aimed at offering medical support to sick and the elderly whenever they encounter health issues.

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Kasese is in the ecclesiastical province of Mbarara. It’s a boarder diocese bordering Fort portal diocese in the north, Mbarara archdiocese in the south and the Democratic Republic of Congo in the west. END